Vienna Teng, Dreaming Through The Noise, 2006

Tracklist:
1. Blue Caravan
2. Whatever You Want
3. Love Turns 40
4. I Don\’t Feel So Well
5. City Hall
6. Nothing Without You
7. Transcontinental, 1:30 am
8. 1BR/1BA
9. Now Three
10. Pontchartrain
11. Recessional

Try it here (320 rip + covers + lyrics)

Myspace
Last.fm

Don’t miss the very well-worked lyrics. Some of them are astonishing.

“he’s a company man, your right hand, 13 years and counting. no detectable ambition. a model of efficiency, far as you can see. he knows every loophole, the art of fine print, massages the numbers ’til they fit. and every time you ask him for another vanishing act, he half-smiles as if to say: whatever you want is fine by me. never a real moment together but she understands: you’re an important man. (…)” (Vienna Teng, Whatever You Want)

“it’s the quiet night that breaks me. I cannot stand the sight of this familiar place. it’s the quiet night that breaks me, like a dozen papercuts that only I can trace. all my books are lying useless now. all my maps will only show me how to lose my way. // oh call my name. you know my name. and in that sound, everything will change. tell me it won’t always be this hard. I am nothing without you, but I don’t know who you are.” (Vienna Teng, Nothing Without You)

“Sunday: dark water draining north, the heat swells and bursts like plague. Sunday: ever-so-faint slow tambourine glides onward toward the grave. who drew the line? who drew the line between you and me? who drew the line that everyone sees? darling, Lake Pontchartrain is haunted: bones without names, photographs framed in reeds. darling,
what blood our veins are holding. the overpass frozen, fires ablaze at sea. who drew the line? who drew the line that cuts to the skin, buries me in? tell me who drew the line. darling don’t close your eyes.” (Vienna Teng, Pontchartrain)

Expect more posts on her in a nearby future.

2 Responses to “Vienna Teng, Dreaming Through The Noise, 2006”

  1. […] You might want to try Vienna Teng, Dreaming Through The Noise […]

  2. […] you liked it, you might like her latest albums, Dreaming Through The Noise and Inland […]

Leave a Reply

